top of page
Search

mean girls.

I hate being a girl. Being a girl means that you are constantly viewed for how pretty your features are. Being a girl means that you don’t know whether your friend is really your friend or not. Being a girl means that you constantly worry about not being good enough for the boy that is everything to you. I don’t know if being a girl is different for girls who don’t live in the Santa Clarita Valley. But if it is, those are some lucky girls. I have lived in SCV for all 17 years of my life. Since 7th grade, I have made new girl friends each year. Each of these girls had different personalities and behaviors. What they all had in common: fakeness. I was once on the inside of the “girl squad.” I heard it all and was a victim of it all. Becky would talk trash about how Ashley “was annoying and couldn’t stick to one guy,” but would comment on her Instagram selfie how pretty she was a day later. I learned that the girls who stand on top of the grass hill preach positivity on twitter but make fun of a girl’s outfit as she walks by. I have never understood girls and will never understand girls. Why these girls enjoyed acting differently to each others faces than they did behind each others backs, I could never comprehend. But what I did know, was that I did not want anything to do with those girls. I am not a girl stuck in high school popularity. I have bigger things to accomplish than worrying about what Tanya has to say about me. I have goals bigger than getting an invite to the Halloween party that “everyone” is going to. I do not consider myself to be one of the girls. I consider myself to be an educated young woman. I am a young woman who is bigger than what goes on inside my school’s gates. I am a young woman who has an opinion on Brett Kavanaugh rather than someone’s subtweet. I am a young woman who will tell you when I am bothered, rather than posting about you on my Finsta account. I am a woman who will stand-up for my friends, rather than agreeing with the false accusations that the girls create. I am a woman who is not conforming to “what is cool.” I am a woman who stands up for and work hard towards my passions. I may hate being a girl, but I am proud of being a young woman.

- g.w.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

gas stations.

i never liked gas stations as a kid. the amount of weird individuals was alarming and the reek of piss and weed didn't help much. every time i would go into the miniature market I would grasp my mothe

he likes beer.

beer. a friend to the taste buds but an enemy of the gut. one of the traditional liquors that many families have lost in the hard to reach corners of their fridge. beer. so many flavors, so many types

bottom of page